CannaTrade 2022
May 20th-22th 2022
BernExpo, Bern
Presenting Partner

20years CannaTrade - Festival, July 2 - 4 2021

Info

20years CannaTrade Festival from July 2-4, 2021 successfully held!
The 20years CannaTrade – Festival took place as an event permitting max. 500 people in accordance with the valid safety measures and was deemed to be a great success: all three days were completely sold out with 500 visitors each day and left visitors and exhibitors alike feeling very satisfied. The anticipation is now growing for 20-22 May 2022 when CannaTrade will return on the usual scale with 300 stands over an area of 12,000 m2, again at the site of the BernExpo in Bern.

Here you can find photos and videos of the 20years CannaTrade – Festival

20years CannaTrade?
That’s right – the first edition of the ‘CannaTrade’ international hemp fair was held in Bern 20 years ago. CannaTrade is Europe’s oldest hemp fair and has had a lively history.

The full history of CannaTrade is available to read here > History

 

 

Program

Friday, 2 July 2021


Doors open 14:00 / Close 22:00

Attractions

  • Hemp Food Festival
  • Joint Roll Contest
  • Music
  • 20 selected stands
  • Hemp Warehouse
  • Sneaker-Market by Sneakerness
  • 20years Shirts Live Printing by TH3
  • Fair (throwing flowers, etc.)
  • Live Glass Blowing » by Vapes’n’Dabs
  • Chillout Area

Special
18.00 LIVE Switzerland - Spain
18:45 CannaSwissCup award show
20:00 20years CannaTrade Festival

Sound
DJ C.Stone (Biel) Funk, Reggae, Hiphop, House
DJ Nat (Chateau Chépère Lausanne) Reggae, Funk, Boogie, Hip Hop

Football EM
The match Switzerland - Spain will be broadcast LIVE from 18.00. Hopp Swiss!

 

Saturday, 3 July 2021


Doors open 11:00 / Close 22:00

Attractions

  • Hemp Food Festival
  • Joint Roll Contest
  • Music
  • 20 selected stands
  • Hemp Warehouse
  • Sprayer Art Contest by Layup
  • Sneaker-Market by Sneakerness
  • 20years Shirts Live Printing by TH3
  • Fair (throwing flowers, etc.)
  • Live Glass Blowing » by Vapes’n’Dabs
  • Chillout Area

Sound
DJ C.Stone (Biel) Funk, Reggae, Hiphop, House
Mista Sanchez (Radio RaBe, Bern) Urban Music
DJ Pablo Lobsang (Bern) Boom Bap Soul Beatz
DJ Xapa Kente (Biel) Ganja Beats & CannaRiddims
DJ Ruff & Ghettogötti (Agentur Fuchsbau) Hiphop

Football EM
Visit the public viewing "Summer in the city" 300m next to the 20years CannaTrade Festival, if you are into football. All info can be found here: www.summercitybern.ch

 

Sunday, 4 July 2021


Doors open 11:00 / Close 18:00

Attractions

  • Hemp Food Festival
  • Joint Roll Contest
  • Music
  • 20 selected stands
  • Hemp Warehouse
  • Sprayer Art Contest by Layup
  • Sneaker-Market by Sneakerness
  • 20years Shirts Live Printing by TH3
  • Fair (throwing flowers, etc.)
  • Live Glass Blowing » by Vapes’n’Dabs
  • Chillout Area

Special
16:20 Sprayer Contest award show

Sound
Daydance with…
Kultursounds (Interlaken) disco to house to techno and all in betwen
BanzaiXX, Mudra, Oli.ver
Miles (Fraktion Tanz, Bern) House
Lycos (Mirror, Bern) Special Downtempo-Set

 

 

Exhibitors

Stand Company
#01 TH3
#02 Sneaker-Market
#03 Holos GmbH
#04 Hanfwarenhaus + stroba naturbaustoffe
#05 Charlie's Lab GmbH
#06 SANlight
#07 Herba di Berna
#08 Alplant und Hanfpost
#09 Plagron
#10 Kälte Kuster
#11 CarbonActive
#12 AE Grünkraft
#13 Cannabis King
#14 Marry Jane
#15 Fourtwenty
#16 Pure Holding AG
#17 Cannabinno
#18 CBD-Test
#19 Canna
   
#A CannaTrade
#B CannaSwissCup
#C IG Hanf
#D MedCan
#E Legalize it
#F Nachtschatten
#G Joint Roll Contest
#H Live Glass Blowing
#I Spray-Contest
   
Hemp Food Festival
#F01 Charles Stey
#F02 Swiss Cannabis SA
#F03 Harmonius GmbH
#F04 Grill and Roll
#F05 Tenz GmbH
   
Bar CannaTrade-Bar

> Download Hallenplan

 

 

History

CannaTrade is 20 years old!

A historical summary of 20 years CannaTrade and the history of hemp in Switzerland

The history of CannaTrade began in 2001, when Marco Kuhn - the founder of CannaTrade - turned the "Swiss Hemp Days" into the international hemp trade fair CannaTrade in Bern for the first time. This was during the days of Switzerland’s hemp shops, known as ‘Duftsäckli’, when Switzerland was almost home to more hemp shops than bakeries! The reason for this was a loophole in the narcotics law which only explicitly prohibited hemp when it began to be used for intoxication purposes. For several years, Switzerland was the number one country for cannabis and anyone who was anyone on the scene flocked to this Alpine land to be a part of this green gold rush. Marco Kuhn invested everything in these times to turn the small Swiss hemp fair into THE international meeting place for the cannabis industry. Thank you, Marco!

At this time, CannaTrade was one of Europe’s three hemp exhibitions alongside ‘Cannabusiness’ in Germany and ‘Highlife’ in Holland and it is the only one of the three to have survived the tough years which followed. The decline in all of the countries was triggered by a shift in the political situation. Germany, still known as taking a repressive approach to cannabis, was the first to slam the brakes on and Cannabusiness disappeared from the scene in 2005. The Highlife trade fair in Holland survived a few years longer but soon had to close its doors too, despite Holland’s liberal policy on cannabis. CannaTrade suffered following the end of the legendary ‘Duftsäckli’ period: but up until 2008, it was still permitted to sell hemp seeds (to sow) and at this time, around 40% of exhibitors at CannaTrade were doing this. However the fun came to an end just three days (!) before the final hemp fair in Bern in spring 2008.

Ben Arn, the organizer of CannaTrade since 2006, still vividly recalls this day: “We were already in the festival hall setting up at the BernExpo in Bern when the notification came from the authorities. There were to be no seeds permitted on the exhibition site and any stands found to be in breach of this ruling would be shut down without delay. I looked around the hall and saw the large logo of the Greenhouse Seed Cooperation which was already hanging from the ceiling and then had to inform all 30 seed banks that they were no longer permitted to sell seeds at the exhibition”. The damage was enormous – exhibitors and visitors alike were disappointed and CannaTrade was virtually dead. The seeds business increasingly moved to California and Spain because the laws on cultivating cannabis were being relaxed there at the same time.

Despite the trying circumstances, there were no thoughts of giving up at the CannaTrade offices (yet). In 2009, when the Ice Hockey World Championships were scheduled for the same time period as the trade fair and so all hotel rooms in Bern were booked up over the CannaTrade weekend, in addition to smoking having been banned in Bern, CannaTrade opted to relocate to the Basel, a city on the Rhine between the countries of Switzerland, Germany and France - where smoking had also not yet been made illegal. With the exception of most of the seed banks, it was possible to persuade the exhibitors to come to Basel where they could secure customers from all three countries, thereby retaining the status of the trade fair. However, the departure of the seed banks triggered an inevitable downward spiral which was foreseeable in advance: after all, if you cannot plant anything, you do not need any cultivation tools and CannaTrade could not survive solely from its smoking accessory stands.

Following two trade fairs in Basel which made a financial loss, CannaTrade took a break in 2011 to redefine itself. While Spain permitted Cannabis Social Clubs and various US states authorized cannabis for medical use and subsequently for leisure consumption, this was a time of status quo for drugs policy in Switzerland. The rejected Hemp Initiative of 2008 was still too fresh in the memory for any change to happen soon. Yet it was in this year, unnoticed by many, that the foundations were laid for the current boom in CBD. Switzerland changed the maximum permitted THC value for (industrial) help from 0.3% to max. 1%. Without realizing the impact that this half a percent of THC would have, from 2012 the organizers planned to run CannaTrade every two years as a small yet refined hemp trade fair in Switzerland. A suitable hall was identified in the form of the city hall in Dietikon and a total of three CannaTrade exhibitions were hosted here on the edge of the metropolis of Zurich up until 2016. It was not an international hemp fair but rather a Swiss gathering for the industry, with a few foreign guests reminiscing about the good old days or seeking to retain a foothold in Switzerland. It was fun, despite being voluntary on the part of the organizers.

And this continued until spring 2016 when the CannaTrade telephone rang and a customer by the name of Bio Can AG announced that they wanted to exhibit cannabis flower at CannaTrade 2016. Cannabis flower? Ben Arn recalls the moment as if it were yesterday. “I was getting out of my car when my phone rang and I was told in confidence that a method had been found of selling weed legally at the trade fair. I couldn’t believe what I was hearing, I thought it must be a joke and asked to see the official documents. When I received them a short time later, I immediately felt a sense of hope that all the waiting had been worthwhile and the Swiss hemp industry and, with it CannaTrade, would flourish like before…” And so the time came. Not in 2016 but by the following year it was back and with it, the gold rush atmosphere. CannaTrade moved from Dietikon to Hall 622 in Zürich-Oerlikon and the 2018 and 2019 trade fairs quickly sold out. The leisurely Swiss hemp fair was transformed overnight into one of the key meeting places for the European cannabis industry. Customers from over 40 countries attended the trade fair in 2019 and so the next step was clear: time to return to the start, to Bern and Switzerland’s largest exhibition center.

The plan was for CannaTrade 2020 to be twice as big as in 2018 and 2019 and even bigger than before. The run-up was (and still is!) intense with work taking place day and night. Up until March 2020, that is. When a small virus paralyzed the whole world and made it impossible for CannaTrade 2020 to go ahead. Everything had to be halted two months before the exhibition date, a financial disaster as Ben Arn explains. “Imagine, after 10 months of intense work, all the partners and services being booked and some already purchased and paid for and then the trade fair had to be cancelled”. But the exhibitors did their bit, did not request back their deposit payments and helped to fill the Covid void with a 25% surcharge. And all this in spite of the fact that the trade fair cannot go ahead in 2021 either and has provisionally been postponed until May 2022. Ben Arn explains their loyalty. “On the one hand, it is clear that this relates to the shift in political circumstances. Thanks to pilot projects (experimental items) and the new legislation relating to the cultivation and export of medicinal THC cannabis, Switzerland is back on the international cannabis stage. Add to this the fact that we have a long-standing and often very close and friendly relationship with many of the exhibitors. Both have meant that we were not just left high and dry”.

So now, in its 20th year, CannaTrade is looking to the future with calm and positivity. The trade fair is fully booked for 2022 and the Covid-enforced break has been used to launch a new series of events exclusively for business customers. Last September, the first B2B networking event was organized in Zurich under the name of ‘CB Club – Cannabis Business Club of Switzerland’. The next event will take place in Montreux, as soon as Covid conditions permit events of 200 people to go ahead again. And in September of this year, the first purely business fair will take place in Zurich under the name of ‘CB Expo – Cannabis Business Expo and Conference’. Despite the ongoing lockdown in Europe, the fair is already half booked up and at present, it can be assumed that the fair will go ahead because it is designed to accommodate 500 – max. 1000 guests per day and not 10,000 like the large CannaTrade visitor fair.

CannaTrade aims to celebrate its birthday based on the same motto – with an event for 500 people. On the weekend of 2-4 July 2021, the ‘20 years CannaTrade – Festival’ will take place at the premises of BernExpo where the trade fair originated and will return next year – with 20 trade fair stands and all the established highlights such as the CannaSwissCup awards show, the Joint Roll Contest Swiss Championship and the Hemp Food Festival. Despite everything, Ben Arn is convinced that the CannaTrade ambience will still be present in a smaller setting with some music and a covered chill-out area. “After over a year without events, without live music and without CannaTrade, I am really looking forward to the weekend – and I am assuming I am not alone! The ‘20 years CannaTrade’ event will be a mix of back-to-the-roots and anticipation of the next big CannaTrade”.

 

 

cannaTrade Close Btn

CannaTrade Newsletter

Don’t miss any news
and register now for CannaTrade’s newsletter!


Private person.
Representative of a company.



Subscribe

ToTop

CannaTrade 2022
20.-22. Mai 2022
BernExpo, Bern
Presenting Partner

20years CannaTrade - Festival, 2.-4. Juli 2021

Info

20years CannaTrade Festival vom 2.-4. Juli 2021 erfolgreich durchgeführt!
Das 20years CannaTrade – Festival fand als Event bis max. 500 Personen unter Einhaltung der geltenden Schutzmassnahmen (Abstand halten, Hygieneregeln befolgen) statt und darf als voller Erfolg abgebucht werden: Alle drei Tage waren mit je 500 Besuchenden komplett ausverkauft und sorgte für zufriedene Besuchende und Aussteller. Nun ist die Vorfreude gross auf den 20.-22. Mai 2022, wenn die CannaTrade wieder in ihrer richtigen Grösse mit 300 Ständen auf 12’000m2, ebenso auf dem Gelände der BernExpo in Bern, stattfinden wird.

Finden Sie hier Foto und Videos des 20years CannaTrade – Festival

20years CannaTrade?
Jawohl – vor 20 Jahren fand in Bern die erste Ausgabe der internationalen Hanfmesse «CannaTrade» statt. Die CannaTrade ist damit die älteste Hanfmesse Europas, und schaut auf eine bewegende Zeit zurück.

Die ganze Geschichte der CannaTrade gibt es hier zu lesen > Geschichte

 

 

Programm

Freitag 2. Juli 2021

Türöffnung 14.00 Uhr / Ende 22.00 Uhr

Attraktionen

  • Hemp Food Festival
  • Joint Roll Contest
  • Musik
  • 20 ausgewählte Stände
  • Hanfwarenhaus
  • Sneaker-Market by Sneakerness
  • 20years Shirts Live Printing by TH3
  • Jahrmarkt (Blüten werfen, uvm.)
  • Live Glass Blowing » by Vapes’n’Dabs
  • Chillout-Area

Special
18.00 LIVE Schweiz - Spanien
18.45 Uhr CannaSwissCup Awardshow
20.00 Uhr Festakt 20years CannaTrade

Sound
DJ C.Stone (Biel) Funk, Reggae, Hiphop, House
DJ Nat (Chateau Chépère Lausanne) Reggae, Funk, Boogie, Hip Hop

Fussball-EM
Das Spiel Schweiz - Spanien wird ab 18.00 Uhr LIVE übertragen. Hopp Schwiz!

 

Samstag 3. Juli 2021

Türöffnung 11.00 Uhr / Ende 22.00 Uhr

Attraktionen

  • Hemp Food Festival
  • Joint Roll Contest
  • Musik
  • 20years Shirts Live Printing by TH3
  • Hanfwarenhaus
  • Sprayer Art Contest by Layup
  • Sneaker-Market by Sneakerness
  • 20years Shirts Live Printing
  • Jahrmarkt (Blüten werfen, uvm.)
  • Live Glass Blowing » by Vapes’n’Dabs
  • Chillout-Area

Sound
DJ C.Stone (Biel) Funk, Reggae, Hiphop, House
Mista Sanchez (Radio RaBe, Bern) Urban Music
DJ Pablo Lobsang (Bern) Boom Bap Soul Beatz
DJ Xapa Kente (Biel) Ganja Beats & CannaRiddims
DJ Ruff & Ghettogötti (Agentur Fuchsbau) Hiphop

Fussball-EM
Besuche das Public Viewing «Summer in the city» 300m neben dem 20years CannaTrade Festival, falls du Bock auf Fussball hast. Alle Infos gibt es hier: www.summercitybern.ch

 

Sonntag 4. Juli 2021

Türöffnung 11.00 Uhr / Ende 18.00 Uhr

Attraktionen

  • Hemp Food Festival
  • Joint Roll Contest
  • Musik
  • 20 ausgewählte Stände
  • Hanfwarenhaus
  • Sprayer Art Contest by Layup
  • Sneaker-Market by Sneakerness
  • 20years Shirts Live Printing by TH3
  • Jahrmarkt (Blüten werfen, uvm.)
  • Live Glass Blowing » by Vapes’n’Dabs
  • Chillout-Area

Special
16.20 Uhr Awardshow Sprayer-Contest

Sound
Daydance with…
Kultursounds (Interlaken) disco to house to techno and all in betwen
BanzaiXX, Mudra, Oli.ver
Miles (Fraktion Tanz, Bern) House
Lycos (Mirror, Bern) Special Downtempo-Set

 

 

Aussteller

Stand Firma
#01 TH3
#02 Sneaker-Market
#03 Holos GmbH
#04 Hanfwarenhaus + stroba naturbaustoffe
#05 Charlie's Lab GmbH
#06 SANlight
#07 Herba di Berna
#08 Alplant und Hanfpost
#09 Plagron
#10 Kälte Kuster
#11 CarbonActive
#12 AE Grünkraft
#13 Cannabis King
#14 Marry Jane
#15 Fourtwenty
#16 Pure Holding AG
#17 Cannabinno
#18 CBD-Test
#19 Canna
   
#A CannaTrade
#B CannaSwissCup
#C IG Hanf
#D MedCan
#E Legalize it
#F Nachtschatten
#G Joint Roll Contest
#H Live Glass Blowing
#I Spray-Contest
   
Hemp Food Festival
#F01 Charles Stey
#F02 Swiss Cannabis SA
#F03 Harmonius GmbH
#F04 Grill and Roll
#F05 Tenz GmbH
   
Bar CannaTrade-Bar

> Download Hallenplan

 

 

Geschichte

Die CannaTrade wird 20 Jährig!

Ein geschichtlicher Abriss über 20 Jahre CannaTrade und Schweizer Hanfgeschichte

Die Geschichte der CannaTrade beginnt im Jahr 2001, als Marco Kuhn – der Gründer der CannaTrade – aus den "Schweizer Hanftagen" zum ersten Mal die internationale Hanf-Fachmesse CannaTrade in Bern durchführe. Es war dies in der Zeit der «Duftsäckli», als es in der Schweiz beinahe mehr Hanfläden als Bäckereien gab. Grund dafür war eine Lücke im Betäubungsmittelgesetz, welche den Hanf erst dann explizit verbot, wenn er zu rauschzwecken verwendet wurde. So war die Schweiz während einiger Jahren das weltweite Cannabis-Land Nr. 1, und alles was in der Szene Rang und Namen hatte, zog ins Alpenland und nahm am grünen Goldrausch teil. Marco Kuhn investierte in diesen Zeiten alles, um aus der kleinen Schweizer Hanfmesse DEN internationalen Treffpunkt für die Cannabis-Branche zu machen. Danke, Marco!

Die CannaTrade war zu dieser Zeit nebst der «Cannabusiness» in Deutschland und der «Highlife» in Holland eine der drei Hanfmessen Europas, und hat als einzige diese drei die darauffolgenden mageren Jahre überlebt. Ausgang des Niedergangs war in allen drei Ländern eine Veränderung der politischen Gegebenheiten. Deutschland, auch heute noch als repressives Land bezüglich Cannabis bekannt, schob den Riegel am ehesten, und die Cannabusiness verschwand im Jahre 2005 von der Bildfläche. Die Highlife-Messe in Holland schaffte es noch ein paar Jahre länger, musste aber auch bald ihre Toren schliessen, trotz der eigentlich liberalen holländischen Cannabis-Politik. Und auch der CannaTrade erging es nach dem Ende der legendären «Duftsäcklizeit» nicht gut: Bis ins Jahre 2008 war es in der Schweiz wenigstens noch toleriert, Samen (zum anbauen) zu verkaufen, was zu diesem Zeitpunkt rund 40% der Aussteller der CannaTrade taten. Drei Tage (!) vor der letzten Hanfmesse in Bern im Frühling 2008 war aber auch dieser Spass vorbei.

Ben Arn, Organisator der CannaTrade seit 2006, erinnert sich noch genau an den Tag: «Wir waren bereits in der Festhalle auf dem BernExpo Gelände in Bern mit dem Aufbau beschäftigt, als das Schreiben der Behörden eintraf. Keine Samen dürfen auf der Messe vorhanden sein, fehlbare Stände würden unverzüglich geschlossen. Ich blickte in die Messehalle, sah das grosse Logo von Greenhouse Seed Cooperation bereits an der Decke hängen, und musste danach alle 30 Samenbanken informieren, dass sie auf der Messe keine Samen verkaufen dürfen.» Der Schaden war enorm – Aussteller wie auch Besucher waren enttäuscht, und die CannaTrade quasi tot. Das Geschäft mit den Samen zog weiter nach Kalifornien und Spanien, da dort zur selben Zeit die Gesetze bezüglich Cannabis Anbau gelockert wurden.

Ans Aufgeben dachte man im CannaTrade-Büro trotz der widrigen Umstände (noch) nicht. Als während der geplanten Messe im Jahr 2009 gleichzeitig die Eishockey-WM stattfinden sollte, und alle Hotelzimmer in Bern während dem CannaTrade-Wochenende ausbucht waren und zudem das Rauchverbot in Bern bereits eingeführt wurde, in Basel aber noch nicht, zog die CannaTrade in die Rhein-Stadt am Dreiländereck Schweiz-Deutschland-Frankreich. Die Aussteller, ausser den meisten Samenbanken, konnte man überreden, in Basel Besucher aus allen drei Ländern zu gewinnen und so der Messe ihre Berechtigung zu erhalten. Der Abgang der Samenbanken hatte aber eine unausweichliche Negativspirale in Gang gesetzt, welche im Vornhinein absehbar war: Den, wenn man nichts pflanzen kann, braucht man auch keine Anbau-Utensilien mehr, und nur von den Rauchzubehör-Ständen könnte die CannaTrade nicht überleben.

Nach zwei Messen in Basel mit finanziellen Verlusten setzte die CannaTrade im Jahr 2011 aus, um sich neu zu definieren. Während Spanien Cannabis Social Clubs erlaubte, diverse US-Bundesstaaten Cannabis zuerst als Medizin und später auch für den Freizeitkonsum erlaubten, herrschte in der Schweiz die Zeit des drogenpolitischen Stillstands. Zu nahe war die verlorene Hanfinitiative aus dem Jahre 2008, um auf baldige Veränderungen zu hoffen. Doch in diesem besagten Jahr geschah, mehrheitlich unbemerkt, der Grundstein für den heutigen CBD-Boom. Die Schweiz änderte nämlich den maximal zulässigen THC-Wert für (Industrie-)Hanf von damals 0.3% auf max. 1%. Ohne bewusste Kenntnisnahme der Auswirkung dieses halben Prozent THC planten die Organisatoren, ab 2012 in einem zwei Jahr Rhythmus die CannaTrade als kleine, aber feine Schweizer Hanfmesse am Leben zu erhalten. Mit der Stadthalle Dietikon wurde die passende Halle gefunden, und bis ins Jahr 2016 fanden insgesamt drei Ausgaben der CannaTrade am Rande der Grossstadt Zürich statt. Es war keine internationale Hanffachmesse, viel mehr ein Schweizer Szenetreffen mit ein paar ausländischen Gästen, welche sich an die gute alte Zeit erinnerten, oder ihren Fuss in der Schweiz behalten wollten. Spass gemacht hatte es jedenfalls, auch wenn es auf Seiten der Veranstalter zu einer ehrenamtlichen Tätigkeit wurde.

Bis im Frühling 2016 das CannaTrade-Telefon klingelte und ein Kunde namens Bio Can AG ankündete, auf der CannaTrade 2016 Grasblüten auszustellen. Grasblüten? Auch hier erinnert sich Ben Arn an den Moment, als wäre es gestern geschehen: «Ich stieg gerade aus dem Auto aus als mein Telefon klingelte und man mir im Vertrauen ankündete, dass ein Weg gefunden war, um legales Gras an der Messe zu verkaufen. Ich traute meinen Ohren nicht, hielt es für einen Scherz, und fragte nach den amtlichen Dokumenten. Als ich diese einige Zeit später erhielt, keimte sofort die Hoffnung auf, dass sich das Warten gelohnt hat, und die Schweizer Hanfbranche und damit auch die CannaTrade wieder zurück zur alten Blüte finden würden…». Und so kam es. Noch nicht im Jahre 2016, aber im darauffolgenden Jahr war sie zurück, die grüne Goldgräberstimmung. Die CannaTrade zog weg aus Dietikon in die Halle 622 in Zürich-Oerlikon, und die beiden Messen 2018 und 2019 waren innert Kürze ausverkauft. Aus der gemütlichen Schweizer Hanfmesse wurde über Nacht wieder eine der wichtigsten Treffpunkte der Europäischen Cannabis Industrie. Kunden aus über 40 Ländern besuchten die Messe im Jahr 2019, und der nächste Schritt war klar: Zurück zum Ursprung, auf das grösste Messegelände der Schweiz, nach Bern.

Die CannaTrade 2020 wurde geplant, doppelt so gross wie die Ausgaben 2018 und 2019, und grösser als je zuvor. Der Run war (und bleibt) enorm, Tag und Nacht wurde gearbeitet. Bis im März 2020. Als ein kleiner Virus die Welt lahmlegte, und so auch die CannaTrade 2020 verunmöglichte. Zwei Monate vor dem Austragungstermin musste alles gestoppt werden, ein finanzielles Desaster, wie Ben Arn erläutert: «Stellen Sie sich vor: Es waren 10 Monate intensiv gearbeitet worden, alle möglichen Partner und Leistungen waren gebucht, zum Teil bereits bezogen und bezahlt, und dann musste die Messe abgesagt werden.» Doch die Aussteller machten mit, liessen ihre Anzahlungen stehen und halfen mit 25% Aufschlag mit, das Covid-Loch zu stopfen. Und dies, obwohl die Messe auch im 2021 nicht stattfindet und vorzeitig auf Mai 2022 verschoben wurde. Ben Arn erläutert diese Treue wie folgt: «Einerseits ist dies ganz klar auf die veränderten politischen Umstände zurückzuführen. Mit den Pilotprojekten (Experimentierartikel) und der neuen Gesetzgebung bezüglich Anbaus und Export von medizinischem THC-Gras ist die Schweiz zurück auf dem internationalen Cannabis-Parkett. Dazu kommt, dass wir mit vielen Ausstellern ein langes und teils sehr enges, freundschaftliches Verhältnis pflegen. Beides hat wohl dazu geführt, dass wir nicht im Stich gelassen wurden.»

Und so blickt die CannaTrade in ihrem 20. Lebensjahr beruhigt und positiv in die Zukunft. Es steht eine ausgebuchte Messe im Jahr 2022 an, und die Covid bedingte Pause wurde genützt, um eine neue Event-Reihe für ausschliesslich Geschäftskunden ins Leben zu rufen. Bereits im vergangenen September wurde in Zürich ein erster b2b-Network-Event unter dem Namen «CB Club – Cannabis Business Club of Switzerland» veranstaltet. Die nächste Austragung folgt so bald Veranstaltungen für 200 Personen wieder zugelassen sind, in Montreux. Und im September dieses Jahres soll in Zürich die erste reine Business-Messe unter dem Namen «CB Expo – Cannabis Business Expo and conference» stattfinden. Trotz anhaltendem Lockdown in Europe ist die Messe bereits zur Hälfte ausgebucht und es darf zurzeit davon ausgegangen werden, dass diese auch stattfinden wird, da sie auf 500 – maximal 1000 Gäste pro Tag ausgelegt ist, und nicht auf 10’000+ wie die grosse Besuchermesse CannaTrade.

Unter demselben Motto – Event für 500 Personen – will die CannaTrade nun auch ihren Geburtstag feiern. Auf dem Gelände der BernExpo, wo die Messe vor 20 Jahren entstand und nächstes Jahr zurückkehren wird, findet am Wochenende vom 2.-4. Juli 2021 das «20 years CannaTrade – Festival» statt. Mit 20 Messeständen und alle bewährten Highlights wie der CannaSwissCup-Awardshow, der Joint Roll Contest Swiss Championship und dem Hemp Food Festival. Zusammen mit Musik und gedeckter Chillout-Area wird in kleinem Rahmen trotz allem CannaTrade-Stimmung aufkommen, ist Ben Arn überzeugt: «Nach über einem Jahr ohne Events, ohne Live-Musik und ohne CannaTrade freue ich mich – und ich gehe davon aus, dass ich damit nicht allein bin – mega auf das Wochenende. Das 20years CannaTrade wird ein Mix zwischen back-to-the-roots und Vorfreude auf die nächste, grosse CannaTrade sein.»

 

 

cannaTrade Close Btn

CannaTrade Newsletter

Keine News verpassen?
Jetzt für den CannaTrade Newsletter anmelden!


Ich bin eine Privatperson.
Ich vertrete eine Firma.



Anmelden

ToTop